NAGGAR CASTLE, KULLU
'Naggar Castle' is a unique medieval mansion made of wood and stone built in local architecture named 'Kathkooni' (combination of stones and wooden beams). The Castle in its courtyard has a small historical temple called "Jagti Patt" which is revered as the judgment seat of Kullu gods. In 1978, the 'Naggar Castle' was handed over to the Himachal Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation (HPTDC) & presently a hotel is run by Corporation. Hotel 'Naggar Castle' is declared' A National Heritage Property' by the Ministry of Tourism, Govt. of India on 09.08.2012.
Naggar, the royal seat of Kullu state remained its capital for about 1460 years. Naggar Castle is traditionally believed to have been built by Raja Sidhi Singh in early sixteenth century. The stones for construction were brought from Gharhdhek of Baragarh across the river beas. Another belief is that stones were passed on the site by a human chain of men and women from the ruins of the fortified palace of Rana Bhosal called Gharhdhek situated below the present Baragaon village. The two main doors of the castle have been made by the use of axe. The width (85"x39"x3") of these one piece doors clearly shows the massiveness of tree from which they were extracted. No metal or Iron has been used in their fixing. The wooden beams used in the walls have been prepared from whole trees. Nagger Castle was used as a royal residence and state head quarter until the middle of seventeenth century. When Raja Jagat Singh transferred the capital to Sultanpur (Kullu). However, the castle continued to be used as a summer palace by subsequent rulers until the British took over the whole of Kangra and Kullu from Sikh's in 1846. When Raja Gyan Singh sold it to the first Assistant commissioner, ' major Hay for a gun. The letter converted the northern wing to the European way of living by putting in staircase, fire place and chimneys. Thus emerged a unique amalgam of indigenous architecture and an English country seat. He later sold it to the Government when it was used as a Courthouse. In 1947, with the departure of the British the court-activity ceased but its door remained opened for visitors and travelers as it was converted into a civil rest house. The Nagger Castle' has withstood the destructive wrath of tremors in the year 1905 due to shock bearing construction technique.
Other Sightseeing points at Naggar: -
Roerich Art Gallery,
Tripura Sundari temple,
Temples of eleventh century:-Vishnu Gaud Shankar and Shri Krishna.